I’m not cut out for this.

Vegas, the lights, the action, I can’t do it. I’m not sure what the problem is, I like to be flashy as much as the next person, but I just feel like I don’t belong here (insert that Radiohead song here). I’d love to say that this place is all that and a bag of cookies, but so far I just feel awkward. Remember that feeling in school when you had to be partnered with somebody that you don’t particularly like? Well, yeah, I just feel like I’m doing a big science assignment and I’ve been partnered with Frankenstein.

Although, Frankenstein is pretty cool, he had a heart of gold, but you had to get to know him first. Sure, I’ll give Vegas a chance today, and I’m sure that my outlook last night might have been a tiny bit skewed. Take being on the road for hours, going to a wild party with the Sin City Chapter, and then just crashing from sheer exhaustion, my outlook was a bit murky yesterday.

Given the option, I’d turn my car around and head back to San Diego. I’d head back to Moorpark, I’d head back to California (but not Rancho Cucomonga). I’d rather have the risk of fires and earth quakes than being in this desert.

While in San Diego, I visited Balboa Park (this seems like a tangent, but stick with me here) and I went into an international shop offering little junk from all over the road. There happened to be a little basket full of little metal charms, tiny actually, all symbolizing a different aspect of life like a heart, a leg, and such. On top of the pile was a little car, shaped very much like my car, so I snapped it up. This little charm is a prayer do dad from mexico and it is to pray over for safe travels.  When I crossed into Nevada something moved me to grab that little car and squeeze the snot out of it. Lord, please help me get out of Nevada.

Amen

DSCF4814

2 thoughts on “I’m not cut out for this.

  1. You will find many places in the world where you’ll say: “I am glad I visited, but I don’t think I could live there.” Many children hate to try new foods, they will say they don’t like them without even trying. We urge them to at least try it…. Same holds true here. (With obvious exceptions, like prison, for example) Visit them all, value all the experiences. Now you can say- Yeah, I’ve been to Vegas.

    • You’re absolutely right. I’m going to give it another chance and hopefully be blown away by the awesomeness. Like I was told “it is a very unique place, mostly artificial of course, but part of our nation regardless.” Very wise words from an amazing man.

Leave a comment