The Hood

“It is a seedy place, but a powerful sense of drama seems to hover on it., a feeling that almost anything can happen in a place like this.”

Hunter S. Thompson

My interpretation of that:

Mt. Hood, Oregon

In the midst of majestic mountains, amazing valleys and this jutting rock formation of what is called Mt. Hood, I find myself dabbling along through this chapter in life. It’s a surreal sort of phenomenon that can’t really be explained unless you actually experience it. I’m not only talking about the existence of this amazing mountain, but the experience of transplanting yourself far away. I look at that mountain knowing that it’ll never move, it’ll stay stagnant forever. Looking upon that mountain on a daily basis reminds me that I’m the furthest thing from a mountain ever created.

Tumbleweed – that’s me. There are undertones and funny stories of me falling down and being a real live “tumbleweed”, however, for the majority of my life I’ve felt that I’ve just been tumbling through situations. Never do I feel like there is a really nailed down agenda and I always have to go with the flow. Think of the tumbleweed adventuring across an interstate. The tumbleweed in responding to an outside stimulus and reacting towards it. Although tumbleweeds don’t have the ability to choose where they’re going to be uprooted and hurdled towards the opposing lane of traffic, they still would rather stay put. They don’t have emotions and they sure as hell can’t argue with the wind.

Mt. Hood, however, doesn’t care what the hell the wind says. I look upon that big ass mountain daily on my commute to work and admire the fact that it’s there in the first place. The panorama surrounding what I call “the hood” is amazing. You have rolling mountains and then this big ass mountain, jutting out like it’s the king of the world. The Hood will surprise the hell out of you on certain days, being ominous over the valley almost as if it’s reigning over. The Hood will also give you a sense of grounding, realizing there is this imposing presence of something over encompassing. The Hood doesn’t care, it’s always going to be there. It doesn’t care about the weather, and it sure as hell doesn’t care about politics. It’s The Hood, it is stationary.

Which brings be back to the mentality of moving on. As was quoted earlier – Hunter touched on a sensitive spot of mine while driving by The Hood the just today. There is a sense of drama out here because of a few reasons

-I know practically nobody out here and those that I do I haven’t spoken with since a sensitive time of teenage years

-I find myself never meeting a stranger, and since being out here I haven’t met one yet. In the grand picture, you have to realize that it’s just a way to deal with reality. You can cover yourself in a cloak of fear of other OR you can embrace them for who they are.

-The Hood has been towering over the valley forever, it’s kind of it’s thing. The Hood isn’t going to change for anyone else, lest there be an epic natural disaster and it blows it’s lid (such as Mt. St. Helens did). The Hood has drama, it can be eroded by a simple trickle of water and be carved away, but it doesn’t crumble at the thought.

“Life is not a problem to be solved, but a reality to be experienced”

Soren Kierkegaard

The assimilation that I have with The Hood is that of experience. I wake in the mornings and peer over mountains that have been whittled away at the tops. They pale in comparison to The Hood, although they’re in the same range. They cower under the peaks of a superior mountain, and I feel bad for them. They let nature get them, they got suppressed but some unforeseen reason. There’s probably a geological explanation as to why they pale in comparison to The Hood, but in the long run, they just suck. They’re puny, they’re runts.

In my world, I see myself as The Hood every day. There are so many problems to be experience, so many challenges to face, obstacles to hop over. You can wake in the morning and loathe the fact that you have to deal with them, or, you look at them and realize that you will have to conquer them one way or another. It’s a learning moment, or at least, to make the most of a challenging situation it’s necessary to view it as such. You can go through life and think that living is hard, there are so many obstacles to overcome (I digress for a moment and profess that there are some people that don’t understand certain struggles, however, the struggles that the look towards as petty they suffer others that they suppress). Those that know what it’s like to be without grocery money suffer differently from those that lack the ability to show true love.

It’s a real thing, and a well-rounded individual realizes this. Life is hard, you deal with things, however if you let it dominate you, you lose. External stimuli that you have no control over does nothing to our actual living beings. We can be living in a world of hurt, such as break up or bad weather. If we allow ourselves to become victim to the external stimuli to the world around us and others decisions or the ebb and flow of weather, we become vulnerable. You become an emotional tumbleweed, letting yourself get tossed to and fro at the whims of external stimuli. The Hood didn’t allow that.

“Yet there’s no one to beat you, no one to defeat you, except yourself feeling bad”

Bob Dylan

If feeling bad about myself was a profession I’d be a millionaire – however I never fell into that hole. I look upon those that have eloquently spoken themselves out of trouble, faced down fearful situation with not a bad of an eye, and those that just fake it until they make it. I don’t think I’d be here, I don’t think I’d be chasing the dream (perhaps no the American dream as Hunter S. Thompson spoke of) but I’m out here in the face of all torment and tribulation. The Hood took it on, I’ll do so also.

In the meantime, I’ll keep on going. I’m not going to allow the world to get me down, I’m more of The Hood than I am a whittled down mountain in the background.

Leave a Reply

