Poor You.

Take a look around you and realize where you are and who’s with you. Make sure you take special inventory of those that you like and dislike; those that have harmed or healed you; and those who care or cut. Then imagine yourself broke, penniless and injured. Who would you be to those people. Who would help you, who would heal you, who would move on? In certain circumstances there is an innate “good” in everybody, but there is also a aspect of “poor” in everybody too.

This country has associated “poor” with a status-related, money making term. If you ain’t got the money, honey, I ain’t got the time. This mentality is sickening and as wide spread as it really is, it’s not really going to change. I woke up this morning and I realized that I am that aspect of “poor”. I don’t have a fancy home, I don’t have a large television or a fancy car. I don’t have the latest Coach bag and I don’t eat fancy food. It’s not to say that I don’t like these things, I just decide to live within my means. I’m poor, I’ll take the consequences. I’ll shop at Goodwill, I’ll get the toilet paper that’s on sale, and I’ll also go without a “salon treatment” and just cut my own damn hair in the mirror.

Things could be different, I could just lay down and be submissive to culture and what I should be, but I would think that would make me even more “poor”.

In the world around me, especially at my job, I’m surrounded with people that are creatures of over abundance. They’re all successful in one way or another such as doctors or lawyers, but they also have lost something about themselves. Just like I’ve lost my riches, they’ve lost touch with the human race. Money can buy lots of things, but you can still me morally and mentally poor inside. The constant numbing of bigger and better things isolates you from your deepest being and who you really are.

Poverty and poor are entirely different things, and I suppose I could qualify for each, but I choose not to conform to any labels. I chose to use my income how I feel, and although right now it’s going to some places that I’d rather not, it’s only due to poor decision making. Aha, there is that word again, “Poor”. In this context poor beens subpar, bad, inferior. Of all those things, as a person, I don’t feel like I am poor. I’m a big hearted person, I care, but also I have to protect myself from other peoples “poor” behavior. In some peoples eyes I might live like a queen, in others I’m a peasant, to me, it doesn’t matter.

Those that label people “poor” are only looking at one side of the rubix cube that is the human being. Think of the complexity of self like a rubix cube. If the white side indicates wealth and the yellow side denotes health, which would you rather have all lined up first? What good is your wealth if you have poor health. Every day your rubix cube life will change, money will go, health will decline and rise, friends will come and go, but if you’re able to realize that it’s all the same no matter what, life will go on.

The more chaotic the rubix cube is, the more beautiful it is. Think of one side of the cube with all the colors in a disorganized patter. To some OCD people they might go insane, but for others they might just see the challenge of a new project. Instead of living life to set up your perfect rubix cube and look at it for the rest of your life, enjoy the changes that occur every day, even if you aren’t anticipating them. The poor people have to do this, and it makes for more interesting conversations. Struggles tell stories that are more vibrant and entertaining than watching anybodies cell phone video of the last time they went to the beach or that new purse they have.

I’m going to continue to be financially poor, and philosophically rich.

2014-11-29 07.05.24

One thought on “Poor You.

  1. Shall I call you “Charlene Brown” after seeing that pathetic, but I’m sure much-loved Charlie-Brownish Christmas tree?

    You hit a home run with that blog posting. Financially poor but morally rich is always better.

Leave a Reply

