What happened to the days of airbrushing was only found on the side of vans?

“Beauty is not caused. It is.”
Emily Dickinson

I spent a sufficient time in my life in the garage to know my way around a paint gun. I used to watch my dad paint cars, sometimes after working ten hours at a “real” job just to come home and work in the garage on other peoples cars. He’d take other peoples boo-boos, such as deer vs. Firebird and make everything all better. A little bit of pounding, a little bit of paint and voila, beauty is restored. 

People are cars aren’t the same, you can’t pound your body into being beautiful and you sure as heck can’t walk around being airbrushed all day. The thing the is confusing to me, however, is how we find this acceptable in a media rich world. The fact that we can take a picture of ourselves and use different filters to make our image look black and white, sepia or even hi-def is one thing, but the ability to transform ourselves into something that we’ll never be is disturbing. 

As I was looking over catalogues of beautiful women this morning trying to figure out what my winter style was going to be, I couldn’t help but be fixated on their legs. For one, it’s winter, shouldn’t they be wearing pants? And secondly, where the hell did their upper thigh go? I mean it’s one thing for a little touching up of a cellulite, but to remove an entire hunk of leg? That’s ridiculous, not only do I feel hurt for trying to be stuped into thinking this is what I’m supposed to look like, I actually feel bad for the models that have to be “okay” with the fact that even though they are beautiful, they still aren’t good enough.

I took a moment to try to airbrush away my legs. . . I didn’t do a very good job. But I also took the time to put myself through a few different filters. What I realized is this:

It’s not what you look like, it’s what sort of light you look at yourself in. If you look at yourself in a positive light, you’ll always be beautiful. 

effectairbrush airbrush airbrushlukestan

Leave a Reply

