On some days….

“There were some nights when The Doors were the best band in the world.” HST

It’s difficult to argue music, but it’s impossible to argue feelings, emotions, gut wrenching passion for things.

On some days Led Zeppelin II is the best album in the world, this morning just happened to be one of them. As i slowly woke from my slumbering position on the couch, I reached for the first comfort I could think of, sweet sweet music. Of course possibilities are endless and the internet doesn’t exactly make life easy when it comes down to it. Not to sound like an old woman but I remember when you actually had to go FIND a cd to listen to. Those were the tough days.

Now, I rely very heavily on Pandora One. It propels me through road trips, amps me through a work day, and almost reads my mind when I’m blue.

This morning it thought my mind wanted to hear Kris Kristofferson. Sorry, strike one. Then it thought I wanted to listed to Cake. Strike two, Pandora, you’d better have something up your sleeve.

Then the familiar chords came pouring out of the system, Ramble On. The anthem of my high school years, the anthem of my adolescence, one of the few songs my cousins band could play. (and they did, over and over and over again). I’m taken back to a time of hope, dreams, and lack of disordered thinking. All I worried about were pimples, working, and getting good grades. I guess not much has changed, except for maybe my zip code and not living with my Mom.

I still get comfort from sleeping on the couch when I’m alone. I still like to listen to loud music all hours of the night. I still like chocolate mother fucking donuts with glaze. Come on, Zips, hop in the electric car with me and adventure to the rest of Led Zep II. (skipping over the Lemon Song).

Tip your hat to the day, and remember, you don’t even have to like The Doors to agree that on some nights, they are in fact the best band in the world.

Zips in his bee safety seat. We're still not sure exactly if or what his age is...so tucked away from the danger of an airbag is the place to be.

Zips in his bee safety seat. We’re still not sure exactly if or what his age is…so tucked away from the danger of an airbag is the place to be.

One thought on “On some days….

Leave a Reply

