Flagstaff to Albe-Turkey via the Grand Canyon

I’m about as non direct as you can possibly get, so as I was looking at the map and trying to determine how exactly I’d like to get from point A to point B, I decided to go all over the place and throw out that old saying about the quickest point between two lines business. Besides, how often do I get the opportunity to go see the Grand Canyon.

It could be an excellent idea, it could be a decision that I’m kicking myself for throughout the rest of the trip. Against others advise and perhaps a tiny bit of better judgement I’ll be taking the shark north, due north, from Flagstaff to go visit the big old gaping hole of the Grand Canyon. One large thing deserves another, right? So The shark will get to see the canyon, I’ll get to see it, and perhaps we’ll be treated to a panoramic view of the rims covered in a frosting of glimmering snow. Or maybe it’ll just look like a vast hole. We’ll see.

After gazing into the abyss – if I don’t have a spirit journey that is – I’ll be heading full speed (at a safe speed) towards Albe-Turkey with a little pit stop along the way in Gallup. I’ve head of the town, but I couldn’t tell you a single thing that I know of being from there. Shrug. So I’ll just go to Genaro’s and eat some burritos.

This is going to be one of the longer travel days of the trip, so unfortunatly I’ll be cancelling the “Taco Tour” and taking the evening to regroup and get myself ready for the great state of Texas. Ah, west Texas, how you seem so large and boring.

Check the route HERE.

Leave a Reply

